Describes bilateral and multilateral trade agreements that this country is party to, including with the United States. Includes websites and other resources where U.S. companies can get more information on how to take advantage of these agreements.
Last Published: 7/21/2019

Uganda is eligible for AGOA and Generalized System of Preferences trade benefits.  Uganda does not yet have a BIT or FTA with the United States. 

On November 28, 2018, Uganda formally ratified the agreement establishing the Africa comntinental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA).  The AfCFTA is the second largest trade area (after the WTO) in terms of member countries  and is expected to become operational by June 2019.

Uganda is a member of the EAC, COMESA and the African Union Abuja agreement.  Duties and tariffs for countries in these groups are significantly lower than duties for non-members.  As part of the EAC, Uganda, Kenya, Rwanda, Burundi , Tanzania, and South Sudan have created an East African Customs Union designed to promote free trade among the six nations.  The United States signed TIFA with the EAC in 2008, and with COMESA in 2001.


Prepared by our U.S. Embassies abroad. With its network of 108 offices across the United States and in more than 75 countries, the U.S. Commercial Service of the U.S. Department of Commerce utilizes its global presence and international marketing expertise to help U.S. companies sell their products and services worldwide. Locate the U.S. Commercial Service trade specialist in the U.S. nearest you by visiting

Uganda Trade Development and Promotion Trade Agreements