Describes bilateral and multilateral trade agreements that this country is party to, including with the United States. Includes websites and other resources where U.S. companies can get more information on how to take advantage of these agreements.
Last Published: 7/11/2017

Iceland is a member of the Agreement on the European Economic Area (EEA) that unites members of the European Union (EU) and the three European Free Trade Association (EFTA) states (Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway) into one single market governed by the EU basic rules.  Iceland is also bound by Free Trade Agreements (FTA) with the following countries through its membership in EFTA:  Canada, Chile, Croatia, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Korea, Lebanon, Macedonia, Mexico, Morocco, Palestinian Authority, the South African Customs Union, Singapore, Tunisia and Turkey. Iceland has also a free trade agreement with China that took effect on July 1st 2014.

Iceland does not have a bilateral investment treaty or an FTA with the United States.  There is a U.S.-Iceland bilateral taxation treaty and a Trade and Investment Framework Agreement (TIFA).


Prepared by our U.S. Embassies abroad. With its network of 108 offices across the United States and in more than 75 countries, the U.S. Commercial Service of the U.S. Department of Commerce utilizes its global presence and international marketing expertise to help U.S. companies sell their products and services worldwide. Locate the U.S. Commercial Service trade specialist in the U.S. nearest you by visiting

Iceland Trade Development and Promotion Trade Agreements