Describes bilateral and multilateral trade agreements that this country is party to, including with the United States. Includes websites and other resources where U.S. companies can get more information on how to take advantage of these agreements.
Last Published: 7/2/2019
African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) – this agreement was presented in Kigali, Rwanda, in 2018.  As of March 2019, only three African Union members have yet to sign the agreement.  Namibia is one of 22 countries that has ratified the agreement, which is set to enter into force at the end of May 2019.

SACU - Namibia is a member of the Southern African Customs Union (SACU). SACU ensures the free movement of goods among member states, Namibia, Botswana, Lesotho, ESwatini and South Africa.  SACU website:

SACU-EFTA Free Trade Agreement – This agreement was concluded in 2004.
SADC Protocol on Trade – Namibia is a member of the Southern African Development Community (SADC).  This agreement was concluded in 1999.

SACU-Mercosur Preferential Trade Agreement - This agreement was signed in December 2004.  Namibia ratified the agreement in 2012 and the agreement entered into force in 2016  The Mercusor members are Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay and Uruguay. SACU website:
SACU-USA Trade, Investment and Development Cooperation Agreement - This agreement was concluded in 2008. SACU website:

AGOA - Namibia qualifies for benefits under the African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA), a unilateral and non-reciprocal program that provides African countries with duty-free access to the U.S. market for more than 6,400 products. For more information on AGOA, visit:

SADC - The Southern African Development Community (SADC) aspires to create an integrated regional economic bloc among member states Namibia, Angola, Botswana, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, South Africa, ESwatini, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. SADC has a population of over 190 million people. The SADC FTA was launched by 12 countries out of 14 SADC members (excluding Angola and DRC) in 2008. For more information about SADC, visit:

SADC EPA Group – In June 2016, six SADC member countries – Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and ESwatini – signed an Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA) with the European Union.
Namibia also has bilateral agreements with Angola, Tunisia, Zimbabwe, Cuba, Ghana, India, Malaysia, and Russia.

For more information on trade agreements, contact:
The Ministry of Trade and Industry

Mailing Address:
Directorate of International Trade
Private Bag 13340
Windhoek, Namibia

Office Address:
Block B, Brendan Simbwaye Square
Goethe Street
Windhoek, Namibia

Tel: +264-61-283-7331
Fax: +264-61-253865

Prepared by our U.S. Embassies abroad. With its network of 108 offices across the United States and in more than 75 countries, the U.S. Commercial Service of the U.S. Department of Commerce utilizes its global presence and international marketing expertise to help U.S. companies sell their products and services worldwide. Locate the U.S. Commercial Service trade specialist in the U.S. nearest you by visiting

Namibia Trade Development and Promotion Trade Agreements